Top batter misses out as South Africa name T20 World Cup squad


On Tuesday, Cricket South Africa (CSA) announced the Proteas squad for next month’s ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia.

Lassie van der Dussen was the team’s most notable dropout as he continues to treat a finger injury sustained in the second Test against England. The 33-year-old will undergo surgery and will be out of action for at least six weeks.

The good news for South Africa is that captain Themba Babuma has fully recovered from the elbow injury sustained in the T20I series against India in June and will lead the Proteas for the second consecutive World Cup.

cook 19
November 02 twenty one

Match Highlights: South Africa v Bangladesh

Riley Rossou, who returned to the T20I set-up in South Africa after a six-year hiatus in July, has also found his place in the team.

The same 15-member squad will head to India later this month to participate in the three-match T20I series ahead of the World Cup.

Commenting on the player selection, CSA convener Victor Mpitsang said: Be careful with them.

cook 19
November 7 twenty one

England v South Africa: match highlights

Watch the England v South Africa highlights.

“Someone like Tristan Stubbs, who was out of the frame a year ago, has done incredibly well to push into the mix based on his performance, and his choices have made all the young people out there. We are also happy to see our captain Temba Bavuma return from injury and I have no doubt that his return will further revitalize the team.

“This group of players showed great skill and talent when they beat England recently in England. Performances like this bode well for us heading into the World Cup. We are pleased with the combination and look forward to seeing them represent the Australian nation.”

squad: Temba Babuma (Captain), Quinton De Kok, Heinrich Klaessen, Lisa Hendricks, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Norce, Wayne Parnell, Dwayne Pretorius, Kagiso – Labada, Lily Rossow, Tablais Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs.

reserve: Bjorn Fortune, Marco Janssen, Andil Fercuwayo.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *